Salty Dog Blues

March 24, 2009

saltydog

Standing on the corner with the lowdown blues
A great big hole in the bottom of my shoes
Honey let me be your salty dog.
Let me be your salty dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey let me be your salty dog.

 
Salty was a good dog and a beautiful one at that.  I could always depend on his enthusiastic greeting whenever I visited his home.  He’ll be so missed.
This drawing of Salty in terra cotta charcoal pencil was inspired by a photo of him, taken with his ears blowing in the wind, on Signal Hill in Newfoundland.

Receive by email or subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

