Dragons

March 27, 2009

dragon2

dragon

dragon1

Not sure why, but dragons have always fascinated me.  Somewhere along the way (perhaps in Tolkien’s ‘The Hobbit’) I read that they are a personification of greed.  Consequently, to conquer a dragon is to conquer one’s desires for the material world. 

The drawings above were done with a combination of felt markers, coloured pencils and ink.

Receive by email or subscribe in a reader

4 Responses to “Dragons”

  1. pepsoid Says:

    I also love dragons and I love these pics! The last one looks like a Hip-Hop Dragon… 😉

    “personification of greed”? I can’t say I see them that way. Whether on the side of good or evil, I’ve always considered them to be noble, principled, highly intelligent… but then I believe, in various cultures, eras, etc, they have numerous connotations – hence part of their fascination!

  2. flandrumhill Says:

    Thanks pepsoid. Hmmm… a Hip-Hop Dragon eh? Ha ha.

    Challenged by your comments, I set out to find out more about the meanings behind dragons and found this excellent explanation of their history and use in both eastern and western cultures:
    http://www.roxasia.com/dragon.pdf

  3. pepsoid Says:

    Thanks, Flan! I really really *REALLY* will try and get around to reading that…! 🙂

  4. pepsoid Says:

    I have, as sort-of promised, read the above-linked article about dragons! Interesting that the article’s main thrust is about packaging design… suggesting that packaging design is a highly representative aspect of modern (western or eastern) society! 😉


Leave a Reply

