Zentangles

February 14, 2012

zentangle

Zentangling is a meditative type of doodling that’s easily accomplished by anyone regardless of skill level. Β The most basic of materials, paper and a dark felt marker, provide an excellent starting point for this relaxing and creative activity.

Here are two examples, one done with a fine tip black marker and the other done with a brown calligraphy marker.

zentangle with calligraphy pen

Thanks to Gerry at Torch Lake Views for introducing me to this art form.

17 Responses to “Zentangles”

  1. cavepainter Says:

    These are interesting. They’re like a doodle collage, and the viewer gets to explore all the different sections. I like the pacman ghosts in the first one.

    • flandrumhill Says:

      Cavepainter, I think ‘interesting’ is an excellent way to describe all zentangles πŸ™‚ Not sure what I was thinking when I created those ‘pacman ghosts’ but they seem pretty tame and friendly.

  2. Gerry Says:

    Thank you for giving me credit for getting you going. I’m still pondering the whole thing and off you go making two entirely captivating, er, tangles? I see fish and birds and water and flowers and shells and three little squid where apparently it’s possible to see three little ghosts. My my.

    • flandrumhill Says:

      Gerry, I had never heard of zentangles prior to reading your post. How quickly I managed to create a couple just shows how easy they are to do. You’re going to have to try one, if only on a paper napkin while having coffee. Did you notice the steaming cinnamon bun at the bottom of the black/white tangle?

  3. pepsoid Says:

    They remind me of the doodles I do in our staff meetings! Which are not nearly as complex, of course…

    • flandrumhill Says:

      Dan, as a person who doodles, you are already on the road to zentangling. However, since you do have to pay attention during meetings, it might be a bit difficult to give the tangles your all at those times.

  4. pepsoid Says:

    Reblogged this on the art of tea and commented:
    Check out these groovy Zentangles!

  5. pepsoid Says:

    Hope you don’t mind, I’ve just shared these groovy artworks on Facebook… coz I love ’em so much! πŸ™‚

  6. pepsoid Says:

    UR most welcome! πŸ˜‰

  7. Kathy Says:

    Never heard of this form of art. Haven’t stopped by your Drawing blog recently. Whenever, I do it feels like an entirely different side of Amy-Lynn has appeared.

    • flandrumhill Says:

      Kathy, I don’t know where it originates from but I think it’s probably just the name, not the practice that’s new.

      Yes, this is ‘the other side’ of me. Well, one of the other sides πŸ™‚

  8. Sakhi Says:

    This is cool Amy… I will try it out too πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

